The Vitro Architectural Glass Guide to LEED®

Sustainable in Every Light

Select a LEED Credit Category below


A Legacy of Sustainability

Established by the United States Green Building Council (USGBC) in 1998, the LEED® (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) rating system is regarded as a premier benchmark for sustainable design.

As the oldest and largest glass manufacturer in North America, Vitro Architectural Glass (formerly PPG glass) has a long history of helping architects incorporate many of the principles now codified in the LEED rating system. In 1934, Vitro Glass introduced Solex®, the world’s first green-tinted heat-absorbing glass. More recently, Vitro Glass led the development of high-performance solar control, low-emissivity (low-e) glasses, culminating in the release of Solarban® 90 glass—the first to feature PPG’s proprietary quad-silver coating technology.

Whether the goal is to achieve LEED certification for a specific project, or simply to design brighter, healthier and more energy-efficient buildings, we invite you to use this guide to discover how Vitro Glass can help achieve your design—and sustainability— vision.

LEED Credit Categories

The LEED rating system designates multiple options for building projects to earn points in the following nine credit categories. Click on the links below to navigate to the desired credit category.  

Integrative Process (IP)

The Integrative Process (IP) category rewards high-performance, cost-effective project outcomes through an early analysis of the interrelationships among systems.

Location and Transportation (LT)

The Location and Transportation (LT) category rewards thoughtful decisions about building location, with credits that encourage compact development, alternative transportation, and connection with amenities, such as restaurants and parks. 

Sustainable Sites (SS)

The Sustainable Sites (SS) category rewards decisions about the environment surrounding the building, with credits that emphasize the vital relationships among buildings, ecosystems, and ecosystem services. It focuses on restoring project site elements, integrating the site with local and regional ecosystems, and preserving the biodiversity that natural systems rely on.

Water Efficiency (WE)

The Water Efficiency (WE) section addresses water holistically, looking at indoor use, outdoor use, specialized uses, and metering.

Energy and Atmosphere (EA)

The Energy and Atmosphere (EA) category approaches energy from a holistic perspective, addressing energy use reduction, energy-efficient design strategies, and renewable energy sources.

Materials and Resources (MR)

The Materials and Resources (MR) credit category focuses on minimizing the embodied energy and other impacts associated with the extraction, processing, transport, maintenance, and disposal of building materials.

Indoor Environmental Quality (EQ)

The Indoor Environmental Quality (EQ) category rewards decisions made by project teams about indoor air quality and thermal, visual, and acoustic comfort.

Innovation (IN)

The Innovation (IN) category recognizes projects for innovative building features and sustainable building practices and strategies.

Environmental Product Declarations (EPD)

The Environmental Product Declarations  (EPD) contains third-party verified Environmental Products Declarations (EPDs) for Flat Glass and Processed Glass products. 

Of the nine credit categories, Vitro Glass has the potential to help building projects earn LEED* points in at least seven. General information for doing so is provided in this guide and on-line at For more detailed information about specifying Vitro Glass for LEED or any green building certification program, call 855-VTRO-GLS (855-887-6457).

*Please note credits included in this document are those for certification under LEED v4 Building Design + Construction (BD+C): New Construction.  Other green building rating systems may have parallel/similar credits to which Vitro Glass can contribute.

LEED Overview

LEED v4, the most recent version of the rating system, was introduced in 2013 and is the mandatory certification standard for all building projects registered after October 31, 2016.

To qualify as LEED-certified, buildings must collect 40 points to earn the minimum level of compliance. Buildings can achieve advanced levels of compliance by earning more points, according to the schedule below:

Please note that LEED does not certify individual building products; however, by specifying sustainable building products such as Vitro Glass, architects can help building projects earn LEED points and thereby become LEED-compliant.